top of page
Search
  • Felix

Felix arrives in Lisbon

Updated: Aug 10, 2019

TO: Carys Marderosian and Ms. Adair's 1st grade class

Henry Barnard School, Providence RI


Dear Carys and Miss Adair’s class:


After a two-hour flight, I arrived in Lisbon and Tio Miguel and Tia Jes picked me up at the airport.

Lisbon is one of the oldest populated cities in the entire Atlantic Ocean and has been an international seaport for thousands of years. It is at the mouth of the Rio Tejo which starts in the mountains in Spain and flows all the way across Portugal to the Atlantic.


Lisboa at the mouth of the Tejo river

During my visit I am living in the Arroios neighborhood of Lisbon. It is an old Lisbon neighborhood and has become the most diverse place in Portugal. The freguesia is home to the most diverse group of international migrants in Portugal, if you mean the most number of distinct nationalities. You can see this is in some of the stores and shops in Arroios around where I am visiting.

 

I went out to play cards at a cafe in the neighborhood called O Malta. "O Malta" is the name of one of the owners, but I like that "A Malta" in Portuguese means something like your gang or a good group of friends and family.


Tio Miguel and I played gin rummy and had some yummy home made Dutch apple pie. The owners of O Malta are in the picture below.



 

A picture of me and a picture of Carys at Tio Miguel's house in Portugal.




17 views0 comments
bottom of page